Hikaru Eclipses Carlsen After 46-Game Unbeaten Streak

Hikaru Eclipses Carlsen After 46-Game Unbeaten Streak


GM Hikaru Nakamura monstered his way to a record 10th Bullet Brawl title on Saturday ahead of 168 titled players including GMs Magnus Carlsen and Oleksandr Bortnyk, who finished second and third.

Nakamura’s run to a winning score of 250 featured 67 wins, seven draws, and just two losses, the fewest that a winner has conceded in Bullet Brawl history. The American also produced the longest unbeaten streak of 46 games to close out the arena and claim the $400 first prize.

Greece’s FM Anastasia Avramidou once again won the $100 best female prize but faced a new challenger in WFM Ekaterina Fomkina, who finished three points shy of Avramidou. In the 287-player strong community event, user “icecreamiscream” blitzed the field with a score of 274.

The next edition of Bullet Brawl will take place next week on Saturday, September 23, 2023, at 1 p.m. ET/19:00 CEST.

How to review games?
The games from September’s third Bullet Brawl can be found here.

As Chess.com’s 2023 Speed Chess Championship nears the pointy end, it was no surprise to see half of the remaining field (Nakamura and Carlsen), fine-tuning their bullet chess form in the lead-up to their respective semifinal clashes. With no increment to rely on in Saturday’s arena, speed and intuition were paramount to success, and Nakamura proved to be practically invulnerable.

A blistering win over GM Daniel Naroditsky was the perfect start for the American GM’s event. and previous winners GM Nihal Sarin and GM Matthias Bluebaum were the only players able to overcome him in the first hour of play. Carlsen did get a shot at Nakamura during this period, though an early blunder by the world number-one allowed his opponent to take control.

The second hour of the arena was when Nakamura was able to surge ahead. Astoundingly, after his loss to Bluebaum, the bullet juggernaut did not lose again. Wins over GMs Andrew Tang, Pranesh M, Vugar Rasulov, and Parham Maghsoodloo are just some of the highlights of Nakamura’s commanding run, and his unbeaten streak is marked by laser precision and astonishing consistency.

Famed FM Tani Adewumi made a cameo appearance in Nakamura’s win streak.

Not long after his convincing win over GM Ian Nepomniachtchi in the SCC, Carlsen’s form was also electrifying, and the former world champion procured several satisfying tactical shots. See if you can find the combinations below of the highest-rated player of all time.

With overall participation across Saturday’s Bullet Brawl events reaching 455—168 of whom were titled players—the popularity of the event is undeniable. The weekly two-hour arena is a fantastic opportunity for titled players, aspiring titled players, and content creators to come together and test their skills.


Rank Fed Title Name Username Rating Score
1 GM Hikaru Nakamura Hikaru 3331 250
2 GM Magnus Carlsen MagnusCarlsen 3319 223
3 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk Oleksandr_Bortnyk 3130 210
4 GM Daniel Naroditsky DanielNaroditsky 3212 200
5 GM Jose Martinez jospem 3165 184
6 GM Nihal Sarin nihalsarin 3164 183

GM Sergei Zhigalko Zhigalko_Sergei 3098 164
8 GM Arjun Erigaisi GHANDEEVAM2003 3136 159

GM David Paravyan dropstoneDP 3160 159
10 GM Andrew Tang penguingm1 3073 150
11 GM Matthias Bluebaum Msb2 3050 144
12 IM Kacper Drozdowski Kacparov 2972 127
13 IM Emin Ohanyan OhanyanEminChess 2985 125
14 FM Gabriel Arteaga Gravity_Chess 2945 123
15 IM Ediz Gurel gurelediz 3017 122
16 GM Mitrabha Guha mitrabhaa 2922 121
17 FM Arystan Isanzhulov Arysya 2976 116

FM Arman Geivondian Ramosha 2801 113
19 IM Deniz Ozen denizozen 2940 111
20 FM Petros Trimitzios TrimitziosP7 2963 110

Bullet Brawl is an exciting new titled arena that features Chess.com’s top bullet specialists and now takes place weekly on Saturdays. The format is a two-hour arena with a 1+0 time control; the prize fund is $2,500.

Much like Titled Tuesday and Arena Kings, Bullet Brawl often features top GMs, including Hikaru Nakamura, Daniel Naroditsky, Andrew Tang, Tuan Minh Le, and many more!

Previous coverage:


Source link

Tinggalkan Balasan