Carlsen Among Strongest Ever Field At Tata Steel Chess 2023

Carlsen Among Strongest Ever Field At Tata Steel Chess 2023


GM Magnus Carlsen once again tops the field for the upcoming 2023 Tata Steel Chess Tournament. The 85th edition of the annual super-tournament in Wijk aan Zee will have five players from the world’s top-10 and also five of the world’s biggest talents.

Traditionally, the Tata Steel Chess Tournament announces the field for the Masters group about two months in advance. This time, it’s exceptionally strong. 

The tournament will have the world number-one Carlsen (coming to Wijk aan Zee for the 19th time) as well as the world number-two GM Ding Liren, and three more top-five players: GMs Fabiano Caruana, Anish Giri, and Wesley So. Furthermore, three other grandmasters from the world’s top-20 will be present: GMs Richard Rapport, Levon Aronian, and Jan-Krzysztof Duda. Of course, 2021 winner GM Jorden van Foreest is also back.

Besides this group of already well-established grandmasters, we have five of the strongest newcomers, rising stars, prodigies, or however you want to call them, all born in the 21st century: GMs Gukesh D., Arjun Erigaisi, Nodirbek Abdusattorov, Vincent Keymer, and Praggnanandhaa R.

2023 Tata Steel Chess Masters Participants

# Fed Name Born Rating Rank
1 Magnus Carlsen 1990 2859 1
2 Ding Liren 1992 2811 2
3 Fabiano Caruana 1992 2766 6
4 Anish Giri 1994 2764 7
5 Wesley So 1993 2760 8
6 Richard Rapport 1996 2740 15
7 Levon Aronian 1982 2735 17
8 Jan-Krzysztof Duda 1998 2731 18
9 Gukesh D. 2006 2725 23
10 Arjun Erigaisi 2003 2718 28
11 Nodirbek Abdusattorov 2004 2713 32
12 Vincent Keymer 2004 2698 42
13 Jorden van Foreest 1999 2690 47
14 Praggnanandhaa R. 2005 2678 62

No fewer than five of the 14 participants have won the Tata Steel Chess Tournament before: Carlsen (the record holder with eight victories in 2008, 2010, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019 and 2022), Aronian (2007, 2008, 2012, and 2014), Caruana (2020), So (2017), and Van Foreest (2021).

“We’ll be seeing great games,” said tournament director Jeroen van den Berg. “And I’m not just talking about the matches between the world’s best players; I am really looking forward to how the young top talents, such as 16-year-old Gukesh or 18-year-old Abdusattorov, will compete with the seasoned players.”

“This is the strongest field I have ever seen in Wijk aan Zee, an extremely impressive line-up,” said Giri “I hear the same enthusiasm from other participants. It’s great to compete together for the coveted title in January. Everyone wants to win this tournament at least once and I think that all participants will be able to do that in the upcoming edition.”

After two years of absence due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the hundreds of amateurs are expected to play again, alongside the top GMs and spectators, during this 85th jubilee edition. The tournament will take place January 13-29, 2023 in Wijk aan Zee, the Netherlands.


Source link

Tinggalkan Balasan